Pinterest VS. DIIGO

I’ve had a pinterest account for quite some time and so have been familiar with it but by no means an expert.  DIIGO was completely new to me and have spent a few hours exploring it and figuring it out but have still so much t understand.  From a comfort perspective, I prefer Pinterest.  From an educational stand point, I think I still prefer pinterest as well. I find it to be extremely user-friendly and it is so easy to search and find interesting ideas and tricks relating to whatever your search of choice may be.  I adore viewing all of the different French-themed bulletin boards, posters, songs, quotes and ideas for a classroom setting.  It’s an incredible tool and I hope to use many of the ideas I’ve found on various albums.   My DIIGO and Pinterest pages can be accessed here.

Some examples of what you could find on Pinterest if looking for French education ideas include:

342b60a198fe38d6023d52f9c41a5325
I Love this poster which states the classroom “golden rules”.  

d2f268b8e00238cfb9033aa44b97aff4

This collage containes different ideas for reflecting on different artists’ works.  Students state the artist and the piece of work they choose by this artists and their opinion of it.

f31d065ec33c0aaf18ccc21077d5e096

All foreign language classrooms need posters with useful expressions in the target language, (TL). 

Honestly, I cannot be 100% sure how the “tagging” process works with Pinterest but I think depending on how you describe the image you post, the album name you organize it in; this will all reflect on how it can be searched by others.  It is extremely easy to search a topic.  The search “French” could come up with options as vast as cuisine, literature, the city of Paris to Educational tools using French.   DIIGO certainly has very organized tagging procedures.  The website seems to revolve around tagging.  You can list multiple tags for the links you share.  You can search a tag and find many different websites that relate to and contain this tag.

DIIGO is a great site to find links to topic you’re interested in and the resources available are amazing.  You can comment on other’s lists through DIIGO but you can’t seem to do the same through pinterest.  However, you can send posts/links/images to your friends on pinterest.  You can also follow other users through pinterest and be exposed to their postings.  Pinterest is all about sharing ideas through images and it is an instantaneous process to share and add pins to your own page.  Likewise with DIIGO only you are sharing links which usually include, blogs, websites, and useful resources to whatever it is you’re researching.  For both sites you are given suggestions of other images/bulletins/collages or links that might interest you depending on what it is you were searching.

I’m a full believer in “a picture states 1,000 words” and so this may be the reason why I prefer to learn through images, collages, and quotes rather than lengthy articles.  This also would explain another reason why I prefer Pinterest since its whole dynamic is based on images and collages.  I know for certain that I would continue to use Pinterest as it is a quick way to find something inspiring.  I cannot say for sure that I will continue with DIIGO but I do like having access to many of the links I have found.  How can one decide which sites to keep when organizing one’s educational links?  There are just simply too many!  This reminds me of Charles DeGaulle’s famous quote “How can one govern a country that has over 246 varieties of cheese?”

chevre DeGaulle

One thought on “Pinterest VS. DIIGO

  1. Thank for all the Pinterest links for teaching French. I can see why you love the site! Thanks also for including here the links to both your Pinterest and DIIGO sties.

    Like

Leave a Reply

