The Future of Education

What is the future of our education system? How has it developed and progressed throughout the years? Do most people realize to what extent it has progressed?  I can tell you, after viewing some of the videos provided in my LAI class syllabus that I do not even realize how much technology is changing our educational system.  I will discuss some of my feelings and reflections from watching the following two videos:  Future of Education and 21st Century Education in New Brunswick, Canada 

The prior was interesting because the people in the video were very “real” people.  They didn’t appear to be reading from a script or trying to sell anything.  They were just expressing their opinions and feelings on the internet world and how it is changing rapidly in our society.  I found the references to video games very appropriate.  I am not a fan of video games personally and I never have been despite the fact that both of my brothers were big “gammers” growing up.  However, a very good point was made about these games.  As stated in the video, children will pick up the game for the first time and more often than not, they will fail relatively quickly.  Despite the failure, they will pick it up and try again, slowing gaining more time and improving.  What does this tell us about our generation and children engaged in technology? They are capable of being self-taught.  Just like video games, students are able to learn the internet on their own.  There are so many resources out there that can tech you virtually anything on the internet.  Always wanted to learn to play the ukulele? With a simple google search and two minutes of browsing YouTube, you can teach yourself a new instrument with the click of a button. Learn the Ukulele  The internet provides information when you need to know it and you can “learn something when you have a reason to learn it.”

Colored pencil drawing of my brother at my grandmother's piano.

Colored pencil drawing of my brother at my grandmother’s piano.  I drew this in high school.

After watching a few youtube videos and finding a piano website where he learned to read notes, my younger brother taught himself piano.

Tim playing Piano at Shakespeare & Co in Paris

Tim playing Piano at Shakespeare & Co in Paris

The second video, 21st Century Education in New Brunswick, Canada was a rock and roll-esque video that did not include any people talking to you.  Instead the video was a read-along slideshow containing simple images and a simple message; The technological advancements are moving fast and we need to be prepared to incorporate such technology in the classroom!  The video transported us to the time when we “got up to change the channel” or the time when we “used a payphone”.  The idea here was to show us how far we have come in such little time.  Will students be using texting, facebook or twitter one day in the classroom?  People can even earn a salary online nowadays, not during precise work hours but in their free time. The internet provides us with international communication and collaboration.  I could one day invite friends from France into my classroom though the use of skype.  My students could one day speak with native French speakers in the comfort of their classroom, even though said speakers would still be overseas in Europe.

In summary, the Internet is the foundation to our future in education.  It’s available at our fingertips and waiting to be explored.

 

5 thoughts on “The Future of Education

  1. Jessi,
    I like how you incorporated the video game theory into your blog. Through practicing, anything is possible. It reminds me when I first got an iPhone and learning how to text on it was nearly impossible. Now, I don’t even have to look and my fingers almost naturally go to where they are supposed to on the keyboard. Through repetition as well as a constant usage of something, it becomes a natural process to us. I like how this can be educationally focused as well. At first, it may be awkward to introduce technology into the classroom, but after practice, it will become more natural and effortless. Thanks for sharing!
    -Brittany

    Like

  2. Jessi,
    Great insight into children learning to keep trying if they fail via video games. It’s true; they will play for hours on end until they reach a satisfactory level. I also like the survey you added to your post. I watch make up tutorials on you tube.

    Like

  3. “Children will pick up the game for the first time and more often than not, they will fail relatively quickly. Despite the failure, they will pick it up and try again, slowing gaining more time and improving”. This is a perspective that I had never thought about. I myself have never been big gamer, but let me tell you, I would play the same level of Super Mario Brothers on my Gameboy 100 times if I needed to. Now recognizing that each attempt was a failure, what made me want to continue? I think people long for engagement and when they feel like they have something they can gain from it, they work hard for it! I absolutely agree that all people will “learn something when you have a reason to learn it”. I guess that’s our job as teachers, to make sure students know that they indeed to have a “reason” to learn what we’re teaching them. This was an interesting perspective and something I think would be a good example to use when talking to a person whose anti-technology in the classroom.

    Like

  4. I must say your color pencil drawing is perfect… I thought it was a photo when I first saw it! I agree that youtube is a very useful website for learning. I was a music performance major before and my professor used to asked us to go on youtube to look at professional players playing or their master class recording. I also learned how to open my washer to remove a clog with pliers and screw drivers and clean my drip pans with baking soda and vinegar. Also, I was trying to learn British accent for fun by watching youtube tutorials… Great that you mentioned it, or I’ll never realize how much I’ve been relying on youtube.

    Like

  5. Your reflections on the videos hit on two very real aspects of learning: the fact that people can be learn almost anything through the Internet and that gaming or “gamification” is becoming very popular.
    Thanks for including the poll in your post. That was a great idea and put the idea of informal learning (learning outside a formal class) into perspective.
    You will do one mod later on gamification, so I’m glad that you have already introduced the topic. I am not a gamer, but I can see a lot of potential for using games particularly serious games for language learning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

